January Itty Bitty Scrap Challenge!

So I’ve been doing some stashbusting! Hurrah! Inspired by the lovely Cindy of Cation Designs and her stashbusting sewalong, I thought it was high time I got some sewing done!

Firstly, I made myself some pretty pattern weights out of some (enormous) washers from the hardware store and some scraps of ribbon and nylon jersey I had lying around….

ImageImage

I just wrapped the ribbon/jersey around and around and around until I had covered all of the washer, and then I hand stitched the end down (See! Sewing was involved!). Super easy 🙂 And they work a whole heap better than the pot of paint and jar of moisturiser I’ve been using instead, so that’s good haha.

Secondly (I KNOW! I busted more than those teeny tiny itty bits of scraps! Say what!?), I made myself a fabric ‘basket’ (for lack of a better word) that fits perfectly inside the shelves on my sewing table…

Image

I used some calico I had lying around, and some old sheet (that I use to make toils normally). I love the way the colours worked- the plain neutral colour on the outside, with the pop of mint green on the inside, but I think it could have done with some lightweight cotton batting or some such to give it a bit more structure. Don’t get me wrong. I like it, and I’m definitely going to use it. And as far as time to usefulness ratios go, I’m knocking them out of the park with this one- it took about half an hour all told, including drafting the pattern piece, cutting and sewing. Satisfying? Yes. I just think if I make it again, I’ll try to give it a bit more structure somehow…

Image

In this one, you even get to see my lovely new pattern weights! Double win!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January Itty Bitty Scrap Challenge!

  1. EmSewCrazy says:

    Very cool! Try some heavy interfacing or a heaver weight fabric to add some body to your next basket.

    • I’ll have a go- I only own very crappy very light weight interfacing at the moment, so it will have to wait until I have some spare cash to buy interfacing! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  2. Andrea Firth says:

    Love the contrasting fabric in your little baskets. I recently made some fabric baskets / boxes too. My fabric was a little stiffer to start with, but I put a layer of interfacing in mine, and they stand up quite well. Here’s my blog post about it.
    http://obsessivecreativeness.blogspot.com.au/2013/01/fabric-storage-boxes.html

Leave a Reply

