Scrap Basket

So recently I got all creative with old sheets. It was phenomenally satisfying finding a new use for the old, pre-loved, worn out sheets lurking around our apartment and our local op-shops. My partner and I got to the local farmers market every weekend we can, and I always look balefully at the gorgeous baskets there that people carry around with all their fresh produce in. I felt like I had the solution lurking nearby.

Turns out I did.

I made a basket out of our old sheets, and a couple that I grabbed from our local oppy.
To make it feel more playful and fun, I worked a whole pile of old fabric strips and scraps and pieces of ribbon and ric rac in to it.

I  really love the way it turned out. It’s the perfect size (about 40cm across) for taking to the markets or packing a project into it to take around to a friends house.

I wish I had thought to write out the pattern as I went! Now I think I’ll just have to make another one so I can work out the pattern again mwah ha ah aha ha ahahaaa.

 

 

This entry was posted in Recyled, Upcycled. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scrap Basket

  1. Julianne says:

    Looks great! Love the handle. I know exactle what you mean about writing down the pattern – I made some crochet necklaces and now for the life of me, I can’t remember how to make some more! Oops!

    • Thanks Julianne, The handle is the one of two things I need to change slightly next time I make one- it needs a wire or something to reinforce it a bit, as is, it stretches WAY out whenever the basket has something in it, but it’s easily fixed 🙂

      I know what you eman about remembering patterns etc that you’ve made, I always think “oh I’ll be able to work that out again…” but it never seems to go like that haha.

      Josh says hello… Turns out my boyfriend is your nephew- it’s a small country right?

      • Julianne says:

        You’re kidding right? Your boyfriend is Joshua? How freaky! You won the necklace giveaway for blogtoberfest! Yay! Email me your address and I’ll pop it in the post.

  2. Julianne says:

    Looks fantastic! I know whatyou mean about writing the pattern down – I made some necklaces and now, for the life of me, I don’t seem to know how to make them again!!

  3. Julianne says:

    Oh and Hi back to Joshua!

  4. The basket is lovely, Sometime I hope you post how you actually constructed the shape. I love that you used lots of little bits. Also, congratulations on winning the Mathilde competition.

    • I can easily post a how to for my basket- I’m doing one up for the craft group that I go to once a month, so I can easily put it up here 🙂 I didn’t think anyone would want one!

Leave a Reply

