Tania Culottes

In January this year, I was lucky enough to do some pattern testing for Megan Neilsen! It was great fun, and since earlier this week she announced her new Breakwater Collection, I thought I would share my make with you!

I ended up making the Tania Culottes which are totally the best things for wearing here in Perth. Below you can see my amazing levitating skirt, care of the crazy wind here in P-town.

Levitating hemline- in a short skirt this would be much more concerning!

Levitating hemline- in a short skirt this would be much more concerning!

 

 

 

 

For real, it actually looks like this most of the time- Perth is one of the windiest cities in the world it turns out, and despite the sunshine in this photo, there is serious ominous storm action happening here. I’m not complaining though, most of the year, this place is literally like a desert.

I like with my blouse untucked too

I like with my blouse untucked too

I swear that hemline is straight! I'm just bending awkwardly as I always do

I swear that hemline is straight! I’m just bending awkwardly as I always do

I really like this pattern. It is super appropriate for me (read: I’m pretty absent minded and tend to run around and do pants things in skirts), and lovely and flippy and girly feeling. It’s great. I wore it heaps over the last few months of summer, but I haven’t worn it much since then.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here on the blog, but I recently (about a month ago) started a running program. It’s pretty challenging, especially for me, because I am NOT a runner. But I really am trying to be. Part of my running is to simply get more exercise. When you study physio, you spend a lot of time talking about illnesses that can kill you, and the most effective prevention of this is exercise. Seriously. If you take nothing else away from this post, it is that you should all do more exercise (or keep doing it, if you already do). People who do 3 hours of exercise a week (which is not very much really) are 40% less likely to die of all cause mortality. That means, in normal speak, you are 40% less likely to get a disease that will kill you if you exercise for 3 hours a week. That’s pretty important. I exercised before this (in the past I’ve competed in paddling ultra-marathons and adventure races) but lately with uni being so stressful, I had been pretty slack. So I got my butt into gear and started this running plan.

Aside from general fitness and health, one of the intended side effects of this running program was to lose some weight. I’m happy to report that has in fact happened, but sad to report that it means that these gorgeous culottes don’t fit me so well anymore: Insert silly face numero uno

P1030794

 

Or silly face numero duo

P1030797

Ooops. I kept putting off taking photos of these for the blog because I could never find the right shoes, or I couldn’t be bothered taking photos before we went out… and now BAM. They don’t really fit me any more. Ooops.

I can still wear them low, like hipsters, but I did love having them as a high-waisted short skirt. Oh well. You live and you learn.

The fabric I used was some polyester that I bought 4 metres of for $2 in Borneo earlier this year, and let me tell you, there is a reason this was so cheap. I mean, yay for stashbusting, but this stuff frays when you so much as look at it, let alone when you try and sew it up. I only recently managed to snaffle my mums old overlocker (if anyone in Perth knows a good place to get them serviced, please let me know!) so for this skirt, it was me and my zig zag stitch versus the ravel. It was a closely fought battle, and I mostly won. Although there are always a few more threads I have to trim every time I wash it.

The trick with these is the sneaky way Meg has inserted the crotch. It’s hard to explain without you seeing the actual pattern, but the way it has been snuck away inside there, it’s invisible from the outside, and keeping everything contained on the inside. Mega win.

Overall, I love this pattern, and I am saving up to go and buy some more fabric so that I can make another one, in a size that will currently fit me! I’ll probably still keep wearing this one as a bit of a gansta-hipster skirt, but I can’t wait to have a few more that I can swap between.

P1030804 P1030801

 

So go and buy yourself a pattern and make yourself up a pair- particularly if you live in the Northern hemisphere and you’re going into summer. Perfect timing!

Also, my giveaway for the Mathilde BlouseĀ is still going! It closes at 11pm tonight AWST, so if you haven’t entered yet, get in there!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tania Culottes

  1. eumoronorio says:

    OO a new pattern company! And a lovely secret culotte! I can’t believe its shorts. It looks like a floaty circle skirt. Wow!

    • I love Megan’s patterns- so many of them are just really understated and cool. And this particular pattern is awesome- for exactly the reason you said- it looks like a skirt but has all the benefits of pants!

  2. Megan says:

    I’ve just seen you on Megan Neilsen’s blog and popped over as I always love a fellow Perth sewing blogger. Great job on the pattern and a very entertaining post. I’m off to read a bit more of your blog with my morning latte!

    • Megan says:

      PS I always take my machine and overlocker to Cockburn Sewing Centre. The guy there can work miracles :)

    • It’s great to hear from someone else who makes clothes in Perth! All the other bloggers who I’ve found in Perth have just ignored me when I’ve stopped past to say hi on their blogs- so antisocial! There aren’t that many of us here, I feel like we should stick together! Thanks for the comment about the service center, I’ll have to check it out :)

  3. Pingback: The long time no see tops… | madeonthecouch

Leave a Reply

